Davis Park is the most easterly of the communities recognized by Fire Island National Seashore’s enacting legislation. It is also among the younger Fire Island communities relatively speaking, emerging after 1945. It evolved around a parcel of land that was donated to the Town of Brookhaven by Davis Brothers of Patchogue, NY. A public park and marina was then constructed by the town, for the enjoyment of the people of Brookhaven. Construction of summer homes west of the park followed in short order becoming the community of Davis Park. Additional property development east of the park began sprouting in the 1960’s and while within Davis Park proper is also known by the secondary name of Ocean Ridge.

Leja Beach in the center is also encompassed by Davis Park. The name is derived from four building contractors who floated a vacant restaurant building originally in Blue Point across the Great South Bay from greater Long Island that became the restaurant now known as the Casino. Those four contractors Lee Coffin, Ed Sembler, Joe Gerard and Al Brown wanted to distinguish their private tract of land from the Brookhaven Town holdings. The name eventually chosen comes from the first initials of each partner – “Leja.”

Today Davis Park is a true boaters’ community with huge 250-boat marina with electric and water hook-ups as well as shower facilities. The Park maintains an even balance between a young single share house crowd and family-oriented homeowners. The Casino Café also remains an important Davis Park social hub; a combination restaurant and bar is where the entire town comes together. It is also the only ocean front restaurant on Fire Island. (The original Casino was washed out to sea in the winter of 1996. A near-replica was floated over shortly after.) Davis Park also boasts one of the larger and better-stocked grocery stores on Fire Island, known as the Harbor Store. Ferry service is out of Patchogue.